ADVANCED PLAYERS

Eric Kokish
kokish-kraft@rogers.com

Dear Eric,

IMPs, both vulnerable, you hold
as South:
AK7 YAK4 9Q96 %J9542

West North East South

Pass Pass 1
Pass 19 Dbl Redbl @
Pass  Pass 2¢ Pass
Pass 26 Pass 2

(1) Support redouble.

Double by North over 2 # is
undiscussed, but knowing
partner’s style, my guess is that it
would be takeout oriented.

What is the meaning of 24?2 Is
it a help-suit game try in hearts?
If so, would you accept or decline
the invitation?

Can 2& show a maximum
passed hand and spade values,
something like
AAJ3 VQ872 4753 %AT6,
or maybe something else?

On the actual deal I chose 2NT,
showing a minimum hand, some
diamond values (not accepting
an invitation) and judging that if
partner would prefer to play in
hearts he could correct to 3% or
49 . How would you rate this 2NT
bid? Does it seem reasonable to
you even if you would’ve chosen
something else?

Ilya Kuzkin

54

2 & is a one-round force showing
something in spades. 2# does nof
promise five hearts, but “game try”
is correct. Not “help” because when
the opponents have shown two suits,
you generally bid the one where
you have values. 1 wouldn’t accept
a game try because my own suit is
weak, and 1 have soft values in their
suit.

2 & could indeed show the hand-
type you suggested (or one with five
hearts).

Your choice of 2NT is 100% clear.
Nothing else is close.

Dear Eric,

My partner and I had an
auction recently on which we had
a misunderstanding.

No one was vulnerable:

West North  East South
14 4 Dbl Pass
4V Pass Pass See

l’

Are we in a forcing auction?

Would it make a difference if
14 was in first or second seat?

Would it make a difference if
S came directly over the double?

Junaid Said

The auction is forcing unless they
are vulnerable and you are not,
regardless of who bids 5. That’s
the consequence of a four-level
negative double, which commits
your side to take 10 tricks and
therefore is assumed to deliver some
high-card values.

First or second seat should make
no difference as you're supposed
to have an opening bid in both
positions.

Dear Eric,

We play NAMYATS. What
is the best follow-up system to
use after 4¢%/4 ¢ ? When would
you open 4 ¢ as opposed to
opening 2¢ and using “Kokish”
to show a strong heart hand?

Our Readers Ask

When would you open 4 ¥ rather
than using “Kokish” to show a
game-invitational hand?

Gene

NAMYATS is not my favorite
convention. Essentially, the best you
can do to try for slam is to use the
intermediate step for that purpose,
perhaps using bids above the trump
suit as more serious slam ftries, or
specifically as asking bids in those
suits, with 4NT as Roman Key Card
Blackwood. Over the cheap-step
response, opener goes past the
trump suit only with extras and
that depends on what the 4¢/4 @
opening promises to begin with. If
you define the NAMYATS opening
in terms of controlled suits — for
example, no more than one suit with
two fast losers — you might use
the cheap step to ask for that suit,
coding the replies to include hands
with no danger suit.

A 4é opening is simply a strong
4% opening, not anything like a
2 opening, which is a serious
hand. You might open NAMYATS
with a solid or one-loser seven- or
eight-card suit and an ace or king-
queen on the side, but that’s it.
Think more in terms of an Acol
two-bid, which promises playing
tricks but not enough defensive
strength to insist on doubling an
opposing game contract.

4% is a preempt, according to the
rule of 500 or 800, whichever you
follow in these discounted times. A
2% opening, when it has hearts, is
(for me) game-forcing. It is not an
Acol two-bid, towards which your
question seems to point.

Not everyone shares my views
on strong two-bids, of course,
and these players believe it useful
to incorporate either a “second
negative” for responder and/or a
non-forcing sequence for opener
ending at 3¥. 0!
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