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play bridge

Well-known teacher and player Jerry Helms answers your
bridge questions. Send your questions to “Ask Jerry,” c/o
Jerry Helms, 5000 Montclair Avenue, Charlotte, NC 2821 1.

Ask Jerry

Dear Jerry: [ though that when
responder bids a new suit opener
has to bid again. Is this true?

V. Bertrand

Pittsburgh, PA

Dear V.B.: As a general guideline, a
new suit by responder is forcing...
but only as a guideline! The idea is
that any time a player makes a bid
where the strength of the hand is yet
to be established, the bid must be
forcing. For example:
OPENER RESPONDER |[new suit by
1o 19 —=——| responder

The 19 response shows at least
four hearts and at least 6 points. It
doesn’t have an upper limit, so

responder could havea & A K 75
hand-like this. The 19 ¢ A x 83
response is forcing. ¢ 4
Responder knows the & k962
contract should be

played in at least a game contract,
but needs more information to pick
the suit or notrump.

Contrast that auction to this one:

OPENER RESPONDER
14 INT new suit by
2 29 < responder

2% is a new suit by responder, but it
is not forcing. The INT response
described a hand with 6-9 or 10
points, putting an upper limit on the
strength. With 10 or more points

and a heart suit, responder would
have bid 2% in the first place. The
combined hands might look like this:

OPENER RESPONDER

& AQRB43 & 7

L Y QJI10972
$ K73 ¢ AB42

& A1075 % 64

The best place for the partnership is
2¥. If responder’s bid of 2% was
forcing, the partnership would not
be able to stop in the best contract.
Here’s another auction where
responder first limits the hand and
then bids a new suit:
OPENER RESPONDER
Pass new suit by
[ & 2¥ -=—— responder

o

Responder’s new suit is not forcing
because the original pass set an
upper limit on responder’s
strength... no more than 12 points.

Bids are forcing only if the upper
range is yet to be defined. If the limits
are fairly well established, partner may
choose to pass or continue. = — JH

( Vhould you & KQJ10732
%Q\preemp.t ¥ 9

W with this ¢ 75

hand? Of course! & 8¢ 4

Holding a long
strong suit and limited strength, you
preempt. The goal is to properly
describe your hand to partner while
making it difficult for the opponents
to bid accurately. The real question
is, “How high should you preempt?”
Many players still use the classic
Rule of Two and Three. It states that
if you are vulnerable, you can bid for
two tricks more than you have; if you
are non-vulnerable, for three tricks
more than you have. Fine, but it
simply does not go far enough. It
deals only with your side’s vulnera-
bility, failing to take notice of the
opponents’ vulnerability. Basically,
when you preempt you want to take
care to not be penalized for more
than the value of the opponents’
potential game. Unless you take their
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vulnerability into consideration,
there’s no way to make this distinc-
tion. Thus, I prefer the Rule of Two,
Three, and Four, which is as follows:
Vul vs. nonvul: Bid for two tricks
more than you have.
Bid for three tricks
more than you have.
Nonvul vs vul: Bid for four tricks
more than you have.
This far more practical rule is
based on the hopeful promise that
partner will prevent disaster by
providing one trick for us — and a
good partner will! Using the rule
on our example six-trick hand, at
favorable vulnerability we would
open 44; at equal vulnerability, 34;
and at unfavorable vulnerability,
24, Yes! A weak two-bid on a
seven-card suit. It is all we can
afford and it is permitted.
So, my tip for you is:

Equal vul:

Use the Rule of Two, Three and Four.




